Thread: USB Ethernet Adapter won't work

Beans

Linksys USB300M USB Ethernet Adapter won't work

Please help me out with this if you can. I'm just a noob and I can't get this to work.

Cisco Linksys USB300M USB Ethernet Adapter
    under Ubuntu 10.04

#lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0b95:7720 ASIX Electronincs Corp. AX88772

I bought this because some reviews at newegg,

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833124335

said adapter was pretty much plug and play under Ubuntu. But it won't do a thing for any of my computers.

A search on Google: "AX88772 linux driver" gives a download link to a driver on the ASIX site.

http://www.asix.com.tw/products.php?...emID=97;71;101

On the site, just above the download links for all the drivers it says:

"All these AX88772A drivers are qualified with ASIX AX88772A demo board. If these drivers could not work with your AX88772A device, please contact your AX88772A device manufacturer to get a correct driver."

Which says to me that even after you've done all the work of building and installing this driver, it still might not work.

However the README file that comes with it requires that one rebuild the driver from scratch using the kernel source code. I've never done anything even like that. Here's part of the README file.

<- Begin README file

================
    Prerequisites
    ================

Prepare to build the AX88772/AX88772A/AX88178 driver, you need the Linux kernel sources
    installed on the build machine, and make sure that the version of the running kernel
    must match the installed kernel sources.
    If you don't have the kernel sources, you can get it from www.kernel.org or contact to
    your Linux distributor. If you don't know how to do, please refer to KERNEL-HOWTO.

Note1: Please make sure the kernel is built with one of the "Support for Host-side,
    EHCI, OHCI, or UHCI" option support.

Note2: Please make sure the kernel is built with "Multi-purpose USB Networking Framework"